Habit Forming: Meditation

For many years now, one of my hobbies has been to research ways to improve health and wellness not only for myself but also to share with others. I spend several hours a week reading advice and studies from prominent wellness experts. Although I always have more to learn, I have gained a lot of knowledge over the years. However, my problem, as I suspect may be an issue for many people, is finding the time and energy to put knowledge into practice. Then, once I begin, I usually find it difficult to continue those practices until they are habits. Does this sound familiar?

One of the habits that I am currently trying to form is meditating daily. Meditation does wonders for stress release as well as allows one to get grounded and re-focused. My eventual goal is 30 minutes of meditation a day but I have started with 5 minutes. I believe it is less important the duration of the meditation and more important that it is consistent. I thought that finding 5 minutes would be so easy but, once I got into a busy day, the day flew by without doing it. So, I have made a goal to wake up every morning and to take those 5 minutes first thing. Furthermore, meditation does not have to be done in a certain manner or position. As long as you are able to be alone and quiet, you will find the best time and the best way to set aside those minutes every day. For my personal meditation ritual, I like to multitask. So, now I do my 5 minutes while I am doing my other morning ritual of drinking hot lemon water.

Drinking hot purified water with lemon is a fantastic way to start your day. I usually heat 8-10oz of purified water and add 2 squeezes of lemon juice. I buy lemon juice in the bottle because it is inexpensive and much more convenient than cutting up fresh lemons every morning. But, fresh lemons work just as great. Personally, I drink lemon water because I am rarely hungry when I first wake up but the hot lemon water helps me to wake up feeling refreshed and gets my digestive system working enough that I can eat something. There are other wonderful benefits to drinking lemon water including, as some experts claim, having a detoxifying effect. You can discover more of the benefits of lemon water in this article: 5 Amazing Benefits of Drinking Lemon Water by Linnea Jensen

Just like needing to set aside time to exercise, even when you feel you might be too overwhelmed or busy, you will be grateful that you did this little ritual for yourself.

If you have always wanted to meditate, I hope my suggestions start you on the right path. If you meditate, let me know how you formed the habit and in what manner does meditation work best for you.

4 thoughts on “Habit Forming: Meditation

    1. livinwholly Post author

      First off, thanks so much for finding and commenting on my blog!
      I totally agree with you about water consumption habits. That’s another main reason that I start the day off by meditating over my lemon water. I want to start the day off right because I am one of most people that can easily get busy and forget to drink enough. It’s a reminder to make the right choices throughout the day.
      Also, I no longer drink sugary drinks like sodas but sometimes I do crave them. So, I have found that drinking sparkling water with lemon is like a soda without the calories or sugar (or sugar substitutes).

      Like

      Reply
  1. Anna Hausfeld

    Great topic. Meditation has enhanced my life through all the ups and downs of over 40 years. You may want to take a look at Ram Dass’s book Journey of Awakening: A Meditators Guidehttp://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29256. Journey_of_Awakening gives an overview of almost every type of meditation you can imagine. It’s an easy read and inexpensive.
    My gut loves lemon in the morning too, although fresh ones are selling for $1 each right now and the lemon tree fruit isn’t ripe yet

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. livinwholly Post author

      First off, thank you for checking out my blog. #cs5711
      I am also glad that you benefit from meditation and lemon water. Fresh lemons are always wonderful but you can find organic lemon juice at many grocery stores that is much more economical. One small bottle lasts me at least a week. You can also sometimes find deals to buy larger bottles in bulk.
      Finally, thank you so much for the book recommendation. I found it at the local library and will be checking it out because, from your recommendations and the reviews that I read, it sounds great.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

